Keyboarding Progress

At first, I was an alright typer and had experience from playing games on the computer so I was good at knowing the keys and where things were. My accuracy was pretty good and my speed was pretty good. One bad habit I had was that I would always use caps lock instead of shift to write in caps. Also I never really got good at using the “home row” and I don’t really have a specific placement for my fingers but it works. In order to stop using the caps lock instead of shift, I went on https://www.keyhero.com/ and practiced and tried my best to only use shift. At first, my average was about 37-40WPM. I also used the website  https://play.typeracer.com/. What typeracer is, is a  typing program that matches you up with 4

typrrtstwt.PNG

or  5 other people who you compete within typing a paragraph or phrase, the first person to correctly type the paragraph wins! I personally like typeracer because I think its fun to compete against other people and it also pushes you to type fast. There is also a feature where you can play against friends which is also fun to practice on. After 2 weeks of typing I noticed improvements in my skill. I was getting more accurate but my speed wasn’t going up as much I averaged around 40WPM but my accuracy was at about 90%-95%. I was happy with these results but I wanted to improve my speed. And after another 2 weeks I did. I kept the same accuracy but I went up to 43WPM. I was happy with these results and ket working at increasing my speed. After all this practice and by the end of all this I averaged 45-50WPM! I have improved on using the shift key for capital letters and overall have become a more accurate and faster type. From doing this typing I now reflect on this activity and realize that just doing typing for 10 minutes every day can improve your technique and speed so much. I encourage people to do this and improve their typing. 

typrrtstwt.PNG

Leave a comment